William H. McKinnon Award for Quality Customer Service

The Awards Steering Committee renamed the Quality Customer Service Award in appreciation for the many years that William H. McKinnon served at the helm of the Housing and Food Services organization. During McKinnon's tenure, the department continued to elevate the focus on the customer, both internal and external. McKinnon's commitment to quality and service is evident in the positive culture of the department. The renaming of this award serves to remind future generations of this leader's legacy.


An employee (exempt, non-exempt, technical service, or wage) who has worked in or supported Housing and Food Services for at least one year is eligible for this award. This is an individual award and is not designed for a team. Award recipients will not be eligible to be considered for nomination two years in a row.

Selection Process

A director serving as chair, plus a seven-member awards committee—consisting of two technical service employees, two staff exempt employees, two non-exempt employees, and the previous year's award recipient—will select a finalist who demonstrates some or all of the following characteristics:

  • Provides exemplary customer service to internal and external customers
  • Sensitivity to diverse populations
  • Enthusiasm
  • Participation in professional development


The recipient will be presented with a personalized Nittany Lion statue and a monetary award—and will have his or her name displayed on a plaque in the lobby of the Housing and Food Services Building.

Read the FAQ's for more information on the nomination process and considerations.


Any customer—or any employee who works in or supports Housing and Food Services—can nominate one or more persons for this award each year.